Welcome to the Museum calendar, here you can find our daily opening hours as well as upcoming event details.

Events in April 2024

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
April 1, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 1, 2024

April 2, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 2, 2024

April 3, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 3, 2024

April 4, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 4, 2024

April 5, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 5, 2024

April 6, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 6, 2024

April 7, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 7, 2024

April 8, 2024
April 9, 2024
April 10, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 10, 2024

April 11, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 11, 2024

April 12, 2024
April 13, 2024
April 14, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 14, 2024

April 15, 2024
April 16, 2024
April 17, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 17, 2024

April 18, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 18, 2024

April 19, 2024
April 20, 2024
April 21, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 21, 2024

April 22, 2024
April 23, 2024
April 24, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 24, 2024

April 25, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 25, 2024

April 26, 2024
April 27, 2024
April 28, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


April 28, 2024

April 29, 2024
April 30, 2024
May 1, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


May 1, 2024

May 2, 2024(1 event)

11:00 am: Open


May 2, 2024

May 3, 2024
May 4, 2024
May 5, 2024

Smuggling and Shipwrecks – the truth!
David Carter
Friday 19th April
Mortehoe Village Hall

We’ve all heard stories about smuggling, but what really went on? How prevalent was it, and who was involved?

Tickets are £5 each (booking fee does apply with Eventbrite tickets)

Tina Orr Munro Author Event
Wednesday 22nd May
15:00 – 16:30

We are delighted to welcome Tina Orr Munro to Mortehoe to talk about her career as a Crime Scene Investigator (CSI) in the Met, and her books that are based in the same field.

Ally Dymond, is the main character in Tina’s books – Breakneck Point and Slaughterhous Farm. Ally is a tough, but flawed Crime Scene Investigator (or Scenes of Crime Officer) consigned to minor crimes in a North Devon backwater after blowing the whistle on corruption.

Tickets are £5 each (booking fee does apply with Eventbrite tickets)

Tractor & Trailer Safari to Bull Point Lighthouse
Tuesday 28th May, Tuesday 23rd July, Tuesday 30th July, Tuesday 6th August, Tuesday 13th August, Tuesday 20th August, Tuesday 27th August.
10:30, 12:00, 14:00

Tractor & Trailer Safari to Morte Point
Wednesday 29th May, Wednesday 24th July, Wednesday 31st July, Wednesday 7th August, Wednesday 14th August, Wednesday 21st August, Wednesday 28th August.
10:30, 11:25, 12:20, 13:45, 14:40

Mortehoe Scarecrow Festival
Sunday 4th – Monday 5th August
10:00 – 16:30

Collect your trail sheet from the Play Area outside Mortehoe Museum (the cost is £5 per sheet). Wander round Mortehoe Village to find over 30 Scarecrows, all with an Olympic & Paralympic theme. Don’t forget to return your sheet to the Play Area once you are done … all correct entries will be entered in to a Prize Draw! Whilst you are there, remember to vote for your favourite Scarecrow (everyone gets a vote, not just the kids!)

Amanda Prowse Author event
Friday 13th September
19:00 – 20:30
Mortehoe Village Hall

Amanda is joining us for an evening to talk about her new book (Swimming to Lundy – availabe in August 2024) and past titles. She will be signing copies of her book on the evening.

Tickets are £5 each, (booking fee does apply with Eventbrite tickets).